Ninth place: 2008 Bowman Draft Picks & Prospects

16 01 2011

Voting will now be closed, so all of you who made a pick cross your fingers and hold your breath.  2 Votes for 2009 Upper Deck Goodwin, 2 votes for 2009 Upper Deck X, and a vote a piece for 2009  Upper Deck SP and 2007 Topps Opening Day baseball.  You’re a brave man, Night Owl.

And there was one vote that got stuck in the spam filter, one that thought that Evan Longoria might pop up in the pack of 2008 Bowman Draft Picks and Prospects.  He did not.  Sorry Andy.  But I’ll still look through my autos for any Royals I may have.  Those ’81 Fleer variations I can’t help with, since I need a slew of them, too.

So with no Longoria (and no Votto, either, for that matter), 2008 BDP&P is the only the ninth best pack of the Fairfield repack pack.  Now, I’m not much of a Bowman guy to begin with, but I get even more lost when you start adding qualifiers to the name.  Doesn’t the regular Bowman release not feature draft picks and/or prospects?  I remember Strasburg last year and Bryce Harper headlining this year, so is this something that changed since 2008?  Do I really care, since I probably won’t buy another pack of this stuff anyway?

Here’s the big rookie of the pack, Jeff Samardzia.  I seem to remember the Cubs reaching to pick him in the early rounds of the 2006 draft, a head-slapping moment that actually made me feel bad for Cubs fans.  I also recall that Jeff was projected to go in the first round of the NFL draft in 2007, but he gave that up to focus on baseball.  I have to wonder what he thinks about that decision now, since his 2011 cards will show a career 5.95 ERA and all.

Here’s the only other name I recognize other than Samardjiza.  I was actually a little psyched to pull this one until I saw how much the guy has struggled in the past two years.  Catching prospects usually take longer to adjust to things, but I’m not sure how high the Rangers are on Mr. Teagarden anymore.

Speaking of catching prospects, here are two guys I’ve never heard of before.  Lanning’s bio says he was an “All-Sun Belt as utility player” which isn’t very encouraging for his future success.  And since it’s been two years since this release and I’ve heard absolutely nothing about him of Jeff Lanning, I have to assume they are both busts who just happen to be able to hold their head at the same angle when posing for photographs.

And the Chromes in the pack are two more mysteries to me.  I actually looked these two up, just in case they had some potential that  was not aware of.  No luck.  D’Antona now plays in Japan.  Bristow probably hurt himself as I was typing this sentence.

Oh, and a pointless parallel of Samardzija to book end the pack.  Hobby packs are selling for around six bucks a pop, and I’d have been very disappointed to pay that much for this.

To be honest, if I would have paid $10 bucks for this thing and had this and the Fleer Ultra pack fall out of it in the parking lot on my way to the car, I would not have missed them.  And i still think I got my money’s worth of enjoyment from the other eight.  I’m not promising everything will be great, but I think it’s all much better than this.

Actions

Information

2 responses

17 01 2011
Ted

“I also recall that Jeff was projected to go in the first round of the NFL draft in 2007, but he gave that up to focus on baseball. I have to wonder what he thinks about that decision now, since his 2011 cards will show a career 5.95 ERA and all.”

Dunno. How many concussions has he had?

17 01 2011
handcollated

I suppose that’s one way to look at it. Of course, lots of football WR play without concussions, but that’s a risk you have to way. Potential all-star WR, or somewhat awful pitcher. As a Reds fan, I’m happy with his (and the Cubs) decision.

Leave a Reply

