Fairfield Repack, Third Place

30 01 2011

Maybe we just needed some time apart.  Maybe I just needed to get the Upper Deck company out of my head for a little while, and that made me appreciate more of what they had to offer.  After all, the top three packs from this Fairfield repack thing all come from the now baseball-less UDC.

And for an offering that was pretty much universally jeered, third place isn’t too bad for 2009 Upper Deck X.

Here’s what I really think:  X is okay in small doses, or if someone decides they want to give you a pack or two for no reason.  Especially when the pack looks like this:

15.5 million is a lot of money for Prince Fielder, though the way his seasons go, he should hit close to 50 HR again this year.  Those are some impressive odd/even year splits.  Without getting too far into it right now, I’m not confident the Reds will be NL central champions at the end of 2011.  I’m not sure it will be the Brewers, either, but they should be a lot harder to beat this year.

Now, if the Reds could trade for a guy like Hanley, I’m be willing to pencil them in as the favorites once more.  Instead we will see if Paul Janish is more Dave Concepcion or Gookie Dawkins.  As a fan, of course I want him to succeed.  Or be a part of the package that would land Hanley Ramirez.

My die cut is the second best first base man in the NL Central.  Yup, I said, it, although I fear some real regression from Joey Votto this year.  Another reason I’m nervous about 2011.

I have no idea what this insert set is supposed to mean, but it looks very nice.

I thought for sure that Chipper was hanging up his spikes for 2011.  Apparently not.  Will her ever hit close to .300 again?  Will he manage close to 20 HRs?  I’m doubtful, but then again, I was wrong about his retirement, too.

Bleah.

So I realize I didn’t talk much about the cards themselves.  They sure are shiny.  And full of color, too.  I cannot see myself putting together a set of this anytime soon, since it just seems pointless to do so with most Upper Deck releases, but I wouldn’t stop you from giving me a pack of it to open every now and then.  It’s like buying a candy bar in the checkout aisle.  You don’t do it all the time, sometimes you feel bad about it, but you usually enjoy the thing and then forget about it a few minutes after it’s gone. Oh, and sometime you stash the wrapper in the trash so no one knows, either.

Still, I was surprised pleasantly by the pack.  And I’m willing to trade them all away, too.

Actions

Information

2 responses

31 01 2011
dayf

Chipper went through rehab this offseason and apparently is on track to play in 2011. He’s never hitting 20 homers in a season again, but as long as he stays reasonably healthy he’ll hit .300. My guess is he plays about 110 games next year, hits around .300 with a .390 OBP and about 10-15 homers. This is assuming 1) he doesn’t get badly hurt again and 2) Fredi gives him plenty of rest and doesn’t try to run him out there every day.

I wish Upper Deck had made a set of just the Exponential cards and forgot about the rest of that mess.

31 01 2011
garyehn

I think that pack was my pick for “best in show”.

Leave a Reply

