Trading it in, hockey style

1 03 2011

Even though when I post hockey cards, reader numbers tend to drop, I’m still a fan of the hobby.  And even though I don’t devote the time and energy to the sport, I’m still aware of important dates like the trade deadline, which has so far been kind of a dud.  But in an effort to be more timely (and apparently limit readership), here’s some cards that have sat on my scanner waiting to be filed until this very moment, when I can try and tangentially relate them to today.

Now, I’m not sure when exactly I received these cards, but I’m pretty sure that Marc Savard was injured at the time.  That’s a shame, too, because as evidenced by this card, Savard tends to go all out when he plays.  In his last three full seasons, he’s put up close to 100 points and 100 PIMs as well.  This season after only twenty-five games he suffered his second concussion in a ten month period.

How does this relate to today?  It doesn’t really, but on the 18th with the trade deadline approaching, the Bruins traded for Rich Peverley to help take his place, giving up the promising yet underperforming Blake Wheeler to the Atlanta Thrashers.  I don’t follow the Southeast Division, so I’m a little surprised to see it so well represented in the playoff chase.   Except for the Panthers.  That I did expect.

All I got for Gerber here is that he was claimed off waivers by the Maple Leafs from the Senators near the trade deadline in 2009.  I remember Gerber from his thirty-two games with the then Mighty Ducks, followed by his run to the playoffs in Carolina.  He was pulled in game 2 of the playoffs and watched Cam Ward backstop the team to the Cup.  From there he was signed as a free agent by the Senators (pictured), but never regained form and now sits as a 36 year old on the Oklahoma City Barons, the farm team of the Edmonton Oilers.

So why did I pick out Mr. Gerber?

Look at that!  French!

At first I thought perhaps this was part of a special Canadian outreach release, but I couldn’t find anything about that anywhere.  Then I realized there was a large sect of French Canadians in Ottawa, and checked other cards in the 07/08 release.  For whatever reason, series 1 was devoid of translation.  Series 2, however, is a bilingual bonanza – if you happen to be a fan of the Senators or Les Canadiens.

French speaking fans of other teams will have to hire a translator, or just acquiesce, I guess.

And maybe I should add some French Canadian checklists since I’m moving closer to the end of these sets.  Just in case.  Juste dans le cas.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

