A discussion question: 2011 Topps

4 03 2011

Last year I recall 2010 Topps was all over the blogs for about a month before things finally started to slow down.  This year’s release seemed to have a strong initial push but then died out after a week or two.  Am I the only one who feels like this happened?

I have the releases pretty even in my head as far as likes and dislikes, so I’m not sure why this would be.  Perhaps more curiosity last year because of the newly announced monopoly?  A second set (2010 Upper Deck) for comparing and contrasting?  More folks suffering hobby burnout?  Too much real life getting in the way?

I’ve noticed though that even with seeming lack of interest from blogs, the prices have remained elevated longer than last year, but don’t seem to have gone as high.  $75 seems an awful lot for a series 1 hobby box, but last year’s are still over $100, even with the Million Card Giveaway over for at least a month.

Am I wrong in thinking the card blog fascination with this years Topps burned out quicker than last year?  And if I’m right, did I hit on one of the reasons, or is it something else entirely?

Actions

Information

3 responses

4 03 2011
Grand Cards

For me it’s real life. I think, whether we realize it or not, that card blog writing benefited disproportionately from the recession–mostly from many card bloggers having extra time at work, or in their day, or (god forbid) because they lost their jobs.

Personally, I have lost a lot of that extra time in the last year, and things have gotten even more difficult in the last 3 months. I might be crazy, but I think that many of us just have less time to devote to cards (not that we’re collecting any less, we just have less time to browse and talk and write etc.). Has the Golden Age of card blogging passed us by? Just me?

4 03 2011
night owl

I think a lot of it has to do with the lack of Upper Deck in baseball. Contrasting and comparing UD with Topps was worth 2 or 3 posts for me, at least.

Also, I’ve decided not to collect the set this year. I suppose some of that is budget related, deciding to be more fiscally responsible with how I spend my card money, and that means not chasing whatever is NEW only because it’s NEW.

As for card blogging, I don’t need 2011 Topps or any current cards to write about cards. Some people, that’s all the do. But I’d feel very restricted doing that.

5 03 2011
grogg

My job has gotten really hectic over the past couple of months. That’s put a hold on my already sporadic blog posts. I’ve also learned over the past few years that I’m much better off buying cards I actually want instead of buying packs and putting together recent sets that take up space and don’t really any resale value. So, to answer your question, I’ve bought two or three packs this year out of curiosity, but base Topps is more or less the same as last year and the excitement of MCG has worn off.

Leave a Reply

