1984 Fleer bonanza

11 03 2011

So if you haven’t been reading me off and on for the last two years or so, you should know that when it comes to trading, I’m a bit of a stickler when it comes to condition.  There are certain things that I can overlook, but noticeable dings or corner damage is hard for me to ignore, especially when it comes to cards from (for now) 1978 and on.

Reader Doug sent me all ten cards that I needed for my 1984 Fleer set.  It’s now complete.  But four of those cards has noticeable dents on the side of the cards, meaning I’m already looking for upgrades.  I don’t mind, I’m sure I miss damaged cards on occasion, and the rest of what was sent more than makes up for the four cards that need to be replaced.

So instead of focusing on what’s I need to replace, let’s focus on what I got.  It’s a six card bonanza of 1984 Fleer.  And judging from the cards, it’s easy to see why it took so long for me to get them.

If you had asked me to name great catchers of the 80’s, I totally would have forgotten about Lance Parrish.  It would be an oversight on my part as he was probably one of the best all around from that era.  Carter, Fisk, Bench- sure I’d remember them.  But not the guy that hit thirty-three home runs and drove in ninety-eight to lead the Tigers to the World Series in 1984.  It’s a shame, too, because I could probably name a majority of the catchers today thanks to fantasy baseball, and most of them aren’t half as good.

I’ve always like this card of Roy Lee Jackson, and I finally have one worthy of my set.  In a draft of what I was going to say about the card, I was going to suggest he was singing the national anthem.  I realize now how Americentric that would be since he’s in a Blue Jays uniform.  I’ll just put him down for singing the theme from Flashdance.  That was a hit in 1983, right?

Robin Yount.  What else am I going to say about Robin Yount that hasn’t been covered elsewhere.  Even Robinade has a post somewhere, featuring a comment by a younger version of me.  I did not know that Yount almost took up professional golfing after a contract dispute that the Brewers eventually gave in to, though.

You there.  The one Gaylord’s pointing to.   You have a box of ’84 Fleer that you want to rifle through, right?  Don’t you want to finish this set for HandCollated?  Go get it done.  And no Vaseline or KY on those.  Got it?

That’s a lot of baseball wisdom there, isn’t it?  Oh, and Joe Morgan is in the picture, too.

I’m joking.  Joe takes a lot of flack for his baseball announcing, but he was one heckuva player and one of the key cogs to the Big Red Machine.  These guys tapped into something in 1983, helping the Phillies all the way to the World Series before losing to the Orioles. That was one thing I loved about Fleer as a kid.  It was easy to remember your Series winners if you thought of the first team in the set.

See that on the front where it says “strikeout record?”  It’s the only year this card could exist.  Lefty was the career strikeout leader at the end of the 1983 season with 3709 of them leading the second place pitcher by thirty-two strikeouts. and earning him the honor of a Fleer Superstar Special.

The problem for Carlton is that second place pitcher was Nolan Ryan.  After a see-saw battle,  Ryan would end the 1984 season with the lead and never look back.  Injuries would keep Carlton from ever taking the lead again.

So there’s 2/3 of the set that I need.  Just a Rose, a Henderson, a Kittle and a Hume away from completion.  And there’s still more to come, although the 80’s cards have sadly come to an end for now.

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 03 2011
night owl

The Roy Lee Jackson card is fantastic. I’ve never seen it before. And I think he’s singing Mr. Roboto.

9 03 2012
In Search of Recordings by Toronto Athletes | This Strange Eventful History

[…] with the Jays from 1981 to 1984, who on at least one ocassion sang the pre-game national anthems, an event immortalized on a baseball card the following […]

Leave a Reply

