Cards from the Green Rolling Hills

11 04 2011

Reader Mike sent along a whole package of 2010 inserts to help whittle down my lists. Since I’m short on time today, here’s a quartet of my favorites.

Because of this card I now know what Kekionga is – the largest settlement of the Miami Indian tribe that inhabitable the lands that we now call the Midwest.  Also the name of the baseball team that won the first professional baseball game.

Reggie looks pretty good on the 1961 design, doesn’t he?  Cards like this make me want to track down more of these much faster.  The back of the card is a bit of a letdown, mentioning Jackson’s two home runs in game three of the ALCS in 1971, and how these two home runs matched the high for any player in the 1961 post season.  I’d much rather see them celebrate the 1977 five home run output that led to the nickname, but whatever…

I think the retired players are made for the Turkey Red cards.  There are, of course, more images for players from the 70’s and 80’s then there are from years prior, and they blend well when Topps tries to old school them up.  So this Johnny Bench card looks brilliant.  After years of complaining of no Reds being in the “legends” portions of Topps sets, they sure have treated this guy right.

I would be pissed if my mom threw out my 1973 Topps Johnny Bench card.  But I don’t actually have one.  And my mom was pretty understanding about the hobby, too.  My father did have one of these (and more, I believe), and I used to love to break out his big binders and leaf through them to see Bench among others.  I’m not sure why I chose to scan the back of this card, unless I was afraid of some Johnny Bench overload or something.

While we are here, though, check out the last line of text.  “Reds added run later in inning to clinch flag & send them to Series,”  then a huge gap.  One would think that Topps could throw in a “The,” “a,” and “the” again where appropriate to teach kids proper grammar rules.  Were I a blogger in 1973, I’m sure I would have taken up the mantle of literacy on Topps cards.  I also would have been a revolutionary since the internets was still in its nascent state.

So thanks to Mike for the cards, and I hope you enjoyed what I sent you as well.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

