Two things to upset a Cardinals fan

14 05 2011

1)  Johnny Cueto goes 7.2, allowing 0 ER on three hits and striking out 5…

2) and Brandon Phillips goes 2-3 with a home run and 3 RBIs.

That Cueto is part of the 60 Years of Topps insert set.  I’d be happy if it was the key card from that set for years to come, but it’s awfully strange to celebrate that set period.  It’s a common complaint I know, but the more recent stuff is kinda like a kick in the groin when you pull it as an insert. I don’t have an answer, though, as to Topps could have done this better.  I guess not reperating the same schtick would have been helpful, though.

And for you Phillips haters, take some time and read this.  I’ll agree (and have before, I think) that his comment last year was probably best left unsaid, but for a guy to take the time out of his day to do that is pretty cool.  And as a result of that comment, the rivalry with the Cardinals seems that much better.  Especially when the Reds win.  I hope the two teams are battling for the division for years to come.

Time to find my broom for tomorrow’s game…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

