Sometimes I feel alone…

16 06 2011

I think I’ve mentioned that I’ve been going through the Sports Card Blogroll alphabetically in order to find trades. I’ve made it through about seventy blogs so far and been able to work out a trade with about 1/5 of the bloggers who are behind them.  And I’ve got one tip so far you, my fellow bloggers, who are looking to do more trading as well – make your wantlist easy to find and easy to read.  It goes a long way.

For the most part, the trades I’ve completed have centered around more recent releases and the packages are full of 2009, 2010, and/or 2011 Topps cards.  Yes,  on occasion I find someone who is building his 1985 Fleer cards or come across a guy who still needs a 1988 Topps card or two (seriously, go through your 1988 Topps cards, pull out card #282 of Pat Perry, and send it to Potch so he can finish that set, okay?).   But there’s a definite majority of trades favoring the current Topps’ monopoly era, and not much from sets before that.

I don’t want to sound like I’m complaining about this. I’m not.  I’m happy to mark any cards off my wantlist, and to help others do the same.  But the further I go down that blogroll  list, the more surprised I at the fact that some sets simply aren’t being collected.  In fact, it makes me wonder if I’m the only one still struggling to finish some of these off.

Like 1986 Fleer.  Is it possible I’m the only one that still has 1986 Fleer needs?   I mean, I’ve seen more people collecting 1989 Donruss than this one, and ’89 Donruss is one of the worst and most oversold sets in existence. I remember tripping over $5 wax boxes of that stuff it was so prevalent, and yet people are still looking for it in larger numbers that a much nicer and slightly harder to find ’86 release.

On that card is current Seattle Mariners hitting coach and possibly chopping block candidate Chris Chambliss in his final year with the Bravos. This may have turned out to be his last year in baseball, but he reappeared in one game for the Yankees in 1988. He made one plate appearance, and I wish I could say he hit a home run, but he didn’t.  He struck out. Just as I have so far in my attempts to finish this set.

Here’s another set I never see other people collecting, the 1999 Bowman release. I assume that’s because most people don’t wake up one morning and decide that the hole they feel in their collection is a lack of overproduced Bowman set from the late 90’s.  That’s what I did though, and unlike Mr. Bagwell there I have no Biggio or Berkman to help me out with this one.  At least not that I know of for now.

This one really surprises me.  2008 Upper Deck is a set that nobody wants?  This is the reason I started collecting Upper Deck sets again in the first place after ignoring the 2007 offering altogether.  This set is beautiful in its simplicity, and that’s a great card of current Diamondbacks 2B Kelly Johnson.  Think the Braves wish they still had this guy?  ‘Cause the guy they have playing there now is putting up some Uggla stats right now.

This is a horrible card of Kenny Rogers from what is arguably a horrible set.  I went through pages and pages of posts of my blog to try to find something nice that I said about 2009 Upper Deck.   I couldn’t do it.  Now my eyes are all red and watery from reading so much on the internet.  Another reason for me to dislike this one.

This one I can forgive you for.  I can easily understand why you wouldn’t want to collect this set, though I’m not going to repeat my litany of complaints here.  Honestly I’ve often thought that I don’t want to be collecting it myself.  But after completing 90% of it, I can’t give up now.  Not when I’m so close.

I’ll keep searching on the Sports Card Blogroll for people I can help in trades.  One of these days, I hope to find someone searching for some of these cards just like me.  Or if you are looking for something from one of these sets, go ahead and let me know.  It’d be nice not to feel so alone.

Actions

Information

8 responses

16 06 2011
smedindy

Check my Spring Cleaning wantlist. Heck, 1986 Fleer is on my to-do list because I don’t have a critical mass yet, but want to have all of the sets from my prime baseball watching days (or is it daze).

17 06 2011
handcollated

If I ever get enough sleep and a day off work then I will get to your lists. I think I can find something for you.

16 06 2011
Doc

I’ve got some 86 Fleer, although, I am one of “those” people finishing up an 89 Donruss set. I mean, come on, when you’re only 20 cards away from being done, it almost has to be done. I’ll check out your want lists for all your sets and pull some cards for you. It may be a while, but I’ll get them to you.

17 06 2011
handcollated

I hope you take it with the humor it was intended. I was pretty tired when I wrote it and wasn’t sure if it came across or not. It was your list I saw that made me mention it, and I left a comment that I had some of your 90 Donruss needs.

16 06 2011
chuckneo

Yeah, I know what you mean; I have temporarily been sucked away from my topps project by Gypsy Queen, Heritage and other retro sets… Probably because that’s what I read everyone else opening!

18 06 2011
Captain Canuck

I hate being at the bottom of alphabetical lists!

good luck in your quest!

18 06 2011
Potch

Hi there…ha, thanks for the plug. “Pat Perry” – silly right?

Stay tuned, I actually hadn’t been chasing the ’88 Topps but figured I’d complete the Reds, then Tigers and Cubs. However, I know I should just go ahead and complete it – should be easy enough. In a week or so, I’ll probably post my full needs for ’88. I’ll actually have quite a few.

21 06 2011
Dan

I am collecting 1999 Bowman….futilely. I’m also collecting 1997, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2004, and 2005 Bowman….I think I really am alone on this. I think I need something like 70 or 80 cards for the ’99 set.

I miss the days of overproduced Bowman sets without the hype, and of course, one per pack international parallels.

Leave a Reply

