Ginter can wait

11 07 2011

Yeah, I know.  It’s an exciting time in the card collecting world.  Ginter will arrive soon, the code will be broken a week from now by the same guy that’s won the last two years, and we will all be up to our eyeballs and bored with it all in a fortnight.

Except for me.

In case you missed it from my last post, my card collecting wallet is empty.  Which means my ability to procure some Allen and Ginter myself is reliant on the kindness of strangers and trades.  So keep me in mind for your left over base cards, okay?

Anyhow, before Ginter hits, I thought I’d give it a go to finish off the first release of the season, Topps series 1.  I’ve had the three cards you are about to see in my draft folder since March of this year, so this will also be a chance to clean up the mess I have made there, too.

Initially this was going to be a post highlighting the collecting choices I had made for 2011 Topps, but those choices have since been replaced with the decision to go all out and collect just about everything.  Except the History of Topps.  That just feels like a waste of perfectly good time.   Back then however, it was a quaint look at my conservative collecting goals for the year.


Obviously there was the base set, which I am dangerously close to completing. For a brief moment, I thought I’d have this one knocked out before Series 2 arrived, but then the whole nomentum occurred, so instead I stood a handful of cards away when the new series hit the shelves.

Here’s all that’s left of my needs for series 1: 6, 39, 72, 96, 280.

I’m resisting the temptation to look and find out who they are. If you can help surprise me, drop me an email.

Then there’s the Topps 60 set which we’ve all seen, and should now be called Topps 120.  By the end of the Update set, we’ll be at Topps 180.  Which could also reflect on my feelings for these cards by then.  I’m actually kinda close to the end of this one, too.

Here’s what’s left of these:  3, 9, 10, 11, 15, 17, 22, 26, 27, 29, 30, 32, 34, 35, 40, 42, 44, 47, 48.

Expect a whole bunch more soon.

And finally, the much coveted minis.  Pujols, I suppose, is a Champion Base Ball Batter in the truest sense.  He’s also a champion at getting on my nerves.  I get tired of watching the guy grandstand after hitting a home run, or his team thinking that getting him getting plunked on an 0-2 pitch is intentional.  It’s even more frustrating because the Reds are still trailing this guy’s team.

I still need about half of these: 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 15, 18, 22, 23, 24, 27, 28, 29, 34, 35, 37, 41, 43, 47, 49

And, of course, I’ll need a whole lot more for series 2.

I’m also needing some Diamond Duos, the 60 Years of Topps set, the lost Cards, and CMG reprints, and everybody’s favorites, the Tickets to Toppstown.

I realize that this and other posts will be swept up in the Gintermania that’s about to unfold.  But this blog will not kowtow the pressure of a new release, oh no.  Especially when I am still enjoying Series 1.  And flat broke, too.

(Topps, if you are reading this, how about sending me a free box or two of A & G for review, okay?)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

