Dumbest MLB headline ever

31 10 2011

Okay, that’s obvious hyperbole.  But it did wake me out of my posting slumber, so that’s something, right?

Here it is:

Classic requires drama, not biggest, best teams

I think I understand what Gammons is trying to get at with this headline:  great games don’t require great teams.  And I’ll agree with that one.  I don’t know who wouldn’t.

But he’s writing this about the World Series, which is supposed to be baseball’s two best teams squaring off for the mantle of “best in baseball,” right?  And while I’ll fully agree with the implication that the Cardinals are not one of baseball’s two best teams this year (their record places them 8th), I think there’s a problem with a championship series that doesn’t involve the two best teams.

Gammons goes on to state the following:

The World Series has never been about the best team in baseball winning; it wasn’t in 1960 or 1988, 1985 or 1987.

And that’s funny, because I always thought that’s exactly what the World Series was about.  It was supposed to be the definitive point of argument on the best team in baseball. I realize that it doesn’t always work out this way, but if the system for determining a champion isn’t about the best team in baseball winning, then I’ll say again that something should be done about the system, or we should reclassify what to call the winner of the World Series.

Joe Posnanski has a longer, and admittedly more thought out post on a similar subject which shows the winner of the World Series since the wildcard was introduced averages the fourth or fifth best record in baseball.  It’s not longer about finding the best team, but finding the team that gets hot at the right time.  He calls it “the spark of surprise,” and the Cardinals certainly qualify for that one.  And I guess if that’s what you want the postseason to celebrate, then you loved the 2011 World Series.

I love baseball.  Maybe not as much as Posnanski does, but I do love the game and envision a time when my son and I sit and watch the World Series together.  Even with his rooting interest in the Cardinals this year (don’t ask, ’cause I don’t know), he still chose to watch Yo Gabba Gabba when given the choice.  And while I love the idea of different teams and different fans getting their taste, I’m not sure how I feel about the watering down of the meaning of World Champion.

Actions

Information

3 responses

31 10 2011
smedindy

It’s never been about ‘the best team’ even though it’s been billed that way. It’s about finding the team with the most health and best luck in a short series. A marathon decided by a 100-yard dash.

1 11 2011
Mike Von Krusze

What criteria do we use to define “the best team”? The best players? The biggest payroll? The team with the most wins and the least losses seems to be close, but there are teams that have a much easier schedule then others.I would have to say that on any given day any given team can beat any other given team. Therefor the team that is the hottest during the “world series” should be the best team at that time.

2 11 2011
handcollated

Well, that’s supposed to be the point of the baseball season and playoffs, right. I haven’t crunched numbers, but I’d guess there aren’t many years when the eight best teams make the playoffs, which seems wrong to me.

All there is now is a system the rewards the best team in October. What else would I do? Not sure. But again, a series about finding the champion on baseball should be featuring the best teams.

Leave a Reply

