That pitcher that’s not Homer debuts for the Reds

22 06 2008

Five days ago I wrote about the Reds possibly calling up a AAA pitcher to use as their new fifth starter. I didn’t want to jinx him by mentioning his name and heaping him with praise as I seemed to have done in calling for Homer Bailey’s promotion.

Today, that pitcher I will not mentioned was called up and made his debut for the Reds in Yankee Stadium. I won’t say he was brilliant, as he pitched in and out of jams all day long and left the game after five innings due to a high pitch count, but it was certainly better than what the Reds were used to in that fifth starter position. He left after giving up no runs, gave up 4 hits and 4 walks, and struck out 2.

I’ll leave you with another picture and note that the number of eBay auctions has undergone it’s usual debut surge, more than doubling your chance of picking up one of his cards.

Oh, and for those interested in the jinxed Bailey, he pitched in AAA today, going 8 innings, giving up 3 ER and 10 hits while striking out 9 and walking none. Maybe the curse has been lifted.