2008 Upper Deck… the update

17 08 2008

First Upper Deck went all update on the First edition release, now they’ve announced a 200 card “update” to it’s base set as well. The cards are available as a set only and will feature rookies and other players not given cards in series 1 or 2, including Clayton Kershaw, Jay Bruce, and Evan Longoria.

One of the reasons I went for an Upper Deck set this year was that 400 cards was a little more manageable than last years 500 card releases. Now with this update, Upper Deck’s up to… 1000 cards.

Crap.

The update set is scheduled for release November 4th and sells for around $20. It comes in an exclusive box with room for all 1000 cards.

Edited to add- I should be clear that the only real problem I have with this is the fact that I’m going to spend even more money on cards.  Budgets, I suppose, are made to be broken.  Still, it’s cheap cost wise, and the box idea is actually a pretty good one.  I don’t want to like you, Upper Deck, but you keep pulling me in…


Actions

Information

2 responses

18 08 2008
morineko

Well, FINALLY there may be some cards of players I actually am interested in within this set. Also, I could use a box.

23 10 2008
2008 Upper Deck Update cancelled, among others « Hand Collated

[…] Upper Deck Update cancelled, among others 23 10 2008 Huh.  Upper Deck Update, the 200 card set only release that came with the 1000 box to store your entire set has been […]

Leave a comment