Mail Day!

29 06 2008

Mail Day was actually Thursday, but I’ve been very busy with work and family life, so I’m just getting around to this one…

First off, and completely unrelated to baseball cards, a box from the Beer of the Month club arrived, allowing me to sample beer from across America in the comfort of my own home. Oddly, the Beer of the Month actually comes bimonthly, no doubt in an effort to discourage alcoholism. So far I’ve tasted a couple of Brooklyn Brewery‘s finest, including their Pilsner and their Lager. Not bad, but I’m more of a dark beer kind of guy, and there’s a wheat beer and a black beer from Choc currently chilling in my fridge. I’ll keep you beer conaisseurs posted, if you’d like.

My second package was from Jim at Tastes Like Dirt. In exchange for some of this years Upper Deck baseball cards, he knocked 34 cards off my 2007 Topps wantlist,including the Mark Loretta card adorning the Zeroing In post, Lastings Millidge and his one handed batting stance, and Luke Hudson, Ramon Ortiz, and Daniel Cabrera all pretending to pitch. Quite a group of cards. Thanks, Jim!

The third box was short on 2007 Topps, but big in heart. Shane at Shoebox Legends put together quite a collection in exchange for a number of 1990/91 Upper Deck hockey cards, including 4 cards from my 2007 list (he actually sent 5, but one of the cards Jim had sent too, and I forgot to let him know), and three other cards from various sets. I also told Shane I was a Cincinnati Reds fan, so he also included an Upper Deck Joey Votto rookie and a Ryan Freel Bowman Heritage card, too.

As if that weren’t enough, Shane introduced me to 1989 Topps All-Star Doubleheaders. For those unfamiliar with this set, it’s essentially mini reprints of a players 1989 Topps card and their Topps rookie card printed back to back on a thin sheet of paper and stuck in a plastic display stand. John Franco now proudly watches over all my posts from home, and Shane also added two unopened packs. Here’s hoping I can pull the other Red from the set, Danny Jackson, to keep John company.

On top of that, the box contained a Topps Heritage fleece 1958 Reds emblem, two packs of Heads Up! Baseball Stars and two packs of 2005 Upper Deck All Star Classics. Good stuff all around. Thanks, Shane!

The cards have been marked off my Zeroing In post, and I’m currently in need of just 67 cards, with more on the way from Dayf at Cardboard Junkie.  If you can help, drop me a line.  I’d love to get this thing over with.


Actions

Information

One response

8 07 2008
Shane

Just saw this today, glad you enjoyed the cards! Thanks again for helping me out with my 90 Upper Deck hockey set. Hopefully we can trade again some day.

Leave a comment